Featured Kindle Book for Thursday

The Physician’s Daughter

Author: Martha Conway

Genre: Historical Fiction

Free via Kindle Unlimited: No

Regular Price: $12.99
Today’s Price: $1.99

Click Here to Buy!

Book Description:

A compelling novel of female perseverance and the role of women in society set in the aftermath of the American Civil War. For readers of Tracy Chevalier.

In a world made for men, can one woman break free from tradition and walk a new path?

It is 1865, the American Civil War has just ended, and 18-year old Vita Tenney is determined to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming a country doctor like her father. But when her father tells her she must get married instead, Vita explores every means of escape – and finds one in the person of war veteran Jacob Culhane. Damaged by what he’s seen in battle and with all his family gone, Jacob is seeking investors for a fledgling business. Then he meets Vita – and together they hatch a plan that should satisfy both their desires.

Months later, Vita seemingly has everything she ever wanted. But alone in a big city and haunted by the mistakes of her past, she wonders if the life she always thought she wanted was too good to be true. When love starts to compete with ambition, what will come out on top?

From the author of The Floating Theatre, The Physician’s Daughter is the story of two people trying to make their way in a world that is struggling to escape its past.

Click here to pick up your copy of The Physician’s Daughter in the Amazon Kindle store.

 

 

About the Author:

Martha Conway is the author of The Underground River, which is a New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice, and three previous novels. Her historical fiction has won several awards, including the North American Book Award, and her short fiction has appeared in the Iowa Review, Carolina Quarterly, Massachusetts Review, Folio, Epoch, and other journals. Martha teaches creative writing at Stanford University’s Continuing Studies Program and UC Berkeley Extension, and has received a California Arts Council fellowship for creative writing. Born and raised in Northern Ohio, Martha is one of seven sisters. She now makes her home in San Francisco.

You can visit Martha’s Amazon author page if you click here.

Are you receiving our posts for free by email? You can if you click here or type in https://www.fkbt.com/subscribe into your web browser – just fill in your email address, smack the “Subscribe” button, and make sure you click the link in the confirmation email!

 

Download the Free Kindle Books and Tips blog app for your Kindle Fire or Android-based smartphone or tablet – for free, of course – by clicking here from the Amazon App Store or click here for the Google App Store.